Agnites Vrolik Award

Erik van Sebille ontvangt de derde Agnites Vrolikprijs
Erik van Sebille receives the Agnites Vrolik Award from Lodewijk Hijmans van den Bergh

The Agnites Vrolik Award was established in 2017 by the Utrecht University Fund to show that the impact of UU research is important and deserves rewarding. The awards includes a sum of € 25,000, intended for extracurricular research. The Agnites Vrolik Award is awarded annually around the Dies Natalis in March. Since the Dies Natalis of 2020 could not take place due to the corona crisis, the third Agnites Vrolik Award was awarded during the Start of the 2020-2021 Academic Year.

Leaving a lasting legacy to the university

Founding this award was possible thanks to alumna mrs. Cobi de Bree who left a legacy to the Utrecht University Fund. In today's rapidly changing society, private contributions for scientific research and education have become more important. The number of alumni, (former) employees or other committed parties who choose to allocate (part of) their inheritance to a university goal is increasing. A good example is a large legacy received by Utrecht University in 2018.

Agnites Vrolik Award

Dr. Agnites Vrolik studied mathematics and physics at the UU and also obtained his PhD here, in 1836. From 1854 to 1858 he was Minister of Finance. He was the first chairman of the Utrecht University Fund.