The Netherlands

Where is Utrecht University? The university is based in Utrecht – a beautiful, bustling city in the geographical centre of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is one of the world's smaller countries, with 16.3 million inhabitants and covering an area of 41,500 square kilometres. Even so, it’s the sixth largest exporter and investor in the world. This is partly thanks to its central location in Western Europe.

Gateway to Europe

The Netherlands and Utrecht are an ideal base from which to visit other countries throughout Europe while you are studying here. There are excellent transport links to all major European cities. Schiphol Airport has flights to and from destinations all over the world and is just a short car or train ride from Utrecht. Utrecht itself is the hub of the Dutch railway network.

The Netherlands in a nutshell:

  • Official name: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden (Kingdom of the Netherlands), also called Holland
  • Form of government: Constitutional monarchy
  • Capital city: Amsterdam
  • Seat of government: The Hague
  • Surface area: 41,500 km2, of which 33,800 km2 is land; 26% of the country is below sea level
  • Population: 16.3 million (485 people per km2)
  • Currency: euro
  • Languages: Dutch and Frisian
  • Religion: historically, Protestant (18%) and Catholic (28%); Islam is gaining popularity (4%) particularly due to immigration (source: Central Bureau of Statistics, 2010)

Further reading

- Website of Nuffic (Netherlands organisation for international cooperation in higher education) about living in Holland.
Dutch is the leading provider of quality English-language news about the Netherlands, from business to sport, from show biz to politics.